You have successfully signed up for contest updates.

You have successfully signed up for the newsletter.

Voluntourism: 52 Tips

by 1 comment



Appalachian Mountain Club photo by Steve Klauck

Voluntourism, the combination of volunteering for a cause while on vacation, takes a special kind of person. For these altruistic individuals, it’s less about the giving of time, labor, and money, and more about the rich reward of improving the world for its citizens. With thousands of volunteer vacation opportunities available worldwide, these tips may be helpful to pinpoint the right experience for you, and ensure a successful, enriching adventure.

Getting started
1) Visit www.VolunTourism.org for tips on selecting the right program for you, preparing for your trip, and what to do once you’re home. You can choose to join a volunteer-sending organization, or find an independent opportunity.

2) Check out the International Volunteerism Resource Center pages of www.idealist.org for suggestions and resources specific to volunteering in a foreign country.

3) Use the zip code search feature on www.volunteermatch.org to find a project in the specific area you plan to visit. Also try: http://givespot.com/


Questions to Ask

4) What’s included in my fee? This won’t be a free vacation, so find out it your fee goes directly to the cause involved, or administrative overhead.

5) Is transportation to the site provided? Will you be responsible for traveling to the location, or to a central meeting point?

6) What’s included once I get there? If meals are included, inquire if you have dietary restrictions. Get specifics about whether your lodging will have heat, running water, bedding, etc.

7) What do I need to bring with me? An itemized list should be provided of any gear you’ll need to supply, like a tent, sleeping bag, hiking boots, etc.

Plan It
8) Look for discounts. Some volunteer tour operators run specials, such as G.A.P. Adventures’ (www.gapadventures.com) 10% discounts during Earth Month.

9) Create your own volunteer experience. You don’t have to go through a tour operator or a charitable organization. If you see a need, offer to help.

10) Do it for just a day. You don’t need to make a huge time commitment. Join a “cleanup” in the community you will be visiting.

11) Bring the family. Certain programs offer suitable, educational, and character-building experiences for school-aged children.

Finding Your Niche
12) Clean up and protect plant life. Clear brush, remove invasive plant species, or plant tree saplings. www.nature.org

13) Help the environment. The International Ecotourism Society (www.ecotourism.org) provides information on specifically ecological voluntourism vacations. Also try the Sierra Club (http://sierraclub.org/) and the Oceanic Society (www.oceanicsociety.org).

14) Help wildlife. Volunteer to monitor and count threatened species. Earthwatch Institute (www.earthwatch.org) arranges expeditions around the world.

15) Sign up to help the sick. Camp Sunshine in Maine (www.campsunshine.org) provides respite to children with life-threatening illnesses. Volunteers help with food service, arts and crafts, recreational leadership, and child care.

16) Be a part of disaster relief. The American Red Cross (www.redcross.org) keeps a list for volunteers able to deploy on short notice. American Humane (www.americanhumane.org) similarly calls on volunteers for animal-related disaster relief.

17) Help out at a public park. The National Park Service Volunteers-In-Parks Program relies on assistance for a variety of upkeep projects, cleanups, and even staffing. www.nps.gov

18) Give someone a place to call home. Help build houses through Habitat for Humanity International’s Global Village program. (www.habitat.org/gv/)

19) Improve hiking trails by joining a trail building or rehabilitation project, widening and blazing paths, constructing foot bridges, or clearing brush. Start with a local hiking club, or the American Hiking Society (www.americanhiking.org).

20) Take pride in America. The country’s historical and national treasures need help with upkeep and staffing. Check out the Take Pride in America’s (www.takepride.gov) online database, searchable by state.

21) Handy with a hammer? The Heritage Conservation Network (www.heritageconservation.net) arranges hands-on workshops for architectural and site conservation around the world to restore and repair historic buildings.

22) Be a part of art. Volunteers are recruited to run WaterFire (www.waterfire.org),
the acclaimed installation of one hundred bonfires set on Providence’s rivers.

23-52) More Places Needing Your Help


Appalachian Mountain Club photo by Steve Klauck

In the United States

The Appalachian Mountain Club; www.outdoors.org

The Appalachian Trail Conservancy; www.appalachiantrail.org

Charity Guide; www.charityguide.org/volunteer/vacations.htm

FrogWatch USA; www.aza.org/frogwatch/

Green Mountain Club Photo Becky Hewitt

Green Mountain Club; www.greenmountainclub.org/

National Wildlife Federation; www.nwf.org/volunteertypes/

New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau; http://www.neworleanscvb.com/static/index.cfm?contentID=1079

North Country Trail Association; www.northcountrytrail.org

Ocean Conservancy; www.oceanconservancy.org

Pacific Whale Foundation; www.pacificwhale.org

Points of Light Institute; www.pointsoflight.org

Public Lands Day; www.publiclandsday.org

Ronald McDonald House Charities; http://rmhc.org/

Surfrider Foundation; www.surfrider.org

Together Green; www.togethergreen.org

International

Ambassadors For Children; www.ambassadorsforchildren.org

Amizade Global Service-Learning and Volunteer Programs; http://amizade.org/

Cape Town Tourism; www.capetown.travel/attractions/entry/voluntourism/

Community Service Volunteers (UK); www.csv.org.uk/Volunteer/

Cross Cultural Solutions; www.crossculturalsolutions.org

European Volunteer Centre; www.cev.be/

Globe Aware; http://globeaware.org

Go Volunteer India; http://govolunteerindia.org/?F=23

International Association for Volunteer Effort; www.iave.org

Jordan Tourism Board; http://na.visitjordan.com/

Tibetan Village Project; www.tibetanvillageproject.org

Volunteer South America; www.volunteersouthamerica.net

Volunteering in Israel; www.ivolunteer.org.il/eng/

Voluntourists Without Borders; www.voluntourists-without-borders.com

World Volunteer Web; www.worldvolunteerweb.org/

Tags: ,
 
Posted in Travel Tips
chocolates-resized-with-text
52 Ways to Enjoy Chocolate In & Around Portland
airplane
5 Holiday Travel Tips with Many Ways to Save
wanderlust595
52 Wanderlust Travel Tips

About the Author

Traci Suppa
Here’s where you won’t find freelance writer Traci L. Suppa: zip lining in the Costa Rican rainforest; snacking on toasted crickets in Thailand; or snowboarding down Mount Kilimanjaro. More likely, she’ll be riding shotgun in the family minivan, playing “I Spy” with her two children during a day trip through her Hudson Valley backyard. Get to know her “back-to-basics” approach to travel at www.wordscapesny.com.
  • http://www.globeaware.org/Content/aboutus/ Anonymous

    Globe Aware is AMAZING! Have Fun. Help People.